Guava Milk Tea @ Bubble 88

It is always a pleasure to come to Bubble 88. Although I have a wide good knowledge of bubble tea flavours, I find myself ordering the same things more times than not. This time around, Soph and I decided to both try something new. I ordered the guava milk tea with pearls. 
DSCF4070

I am quite familiar with guava and the taste of it. Compared to the bubble tea, I was surprised that it tasted not like the fruit I was familiar with. It tasted more like a bland candy than it tasted like guava. Guava the fruit has a subtle taste to it and has a lot of texture and seeds. The drink had no seeds and it tasted sweet at first but had a slight bitter aftertaste. Overall, the drink is very bland.

The colour of guava is light green and white with tan seeds. However, this drink was probably referring to the red guava and not the white guava. If you’re looking for a white guava drink, I suggest you not to order this one. I wished that Bubble 88 had made it specific on their menu that this drink was a red guava milk tea drink. Most are familiar with white guava and the title is misleading. I also felt that the pearls were too stiff and felt under cooked.
DSCF4072

I was pleased, however, with the colours of the drink. It had an “ombre” feel to it. A darker shade of pink-ish orange at the bottom fading to almost a tan-yellow colour. After a long day at school on a Friday afternoon, the colours of the guava bubble tea was refreshing and soothing.

I would recommend this drink to anyone who is looking for a light bubble tea with bland taste. However, I myself would not order this drink again. I feel like it is a bubble tea to be enjoyed once in a while because it is not very distinct. Nothing about the drink really amazed me except for the calming colours.

RATINGS 

Appearance: ⋆⋆⋆⋆⋆
Taste: ⋆⋆⋆
Cost: ⋆⋆⋆⋆

2 responses to “Guava Milk Tea @ Bubble 88

  1. Pingback: Bubble Tea in South Korea | From Korea with Love·

  2. Pingback: Bubble Tea | How Do You Brew Tea·

Leave a Reply

